To all the books I’ve loved before


Tonight I am going to write about a subject that is very near and dear to my heart. Books! Reading is and always has been my number one, all time, very most favorite thing to do. I have been a voracious reader since Kindergarten and after all these years I am going to try to list my top 10 favorite books and/or series. I have racking my brain for days trying to decide out of the thousands and thousands of books I have read which ones stood out the most. So without further ado or bad grammar I present to you: THE LIST

1. Dante’s Inferno-When I first read this book I didn’t really understand it, being only 10, but Dante drew me into his story with his vivid and frightening details of Hell and Purgatory. I still don’t understand all of this book at 36 but it is still a good re- read.

2. The Stand by Stephen King-When I really love a book I will re-read it numerous times over the years and still get the same amount of enjoyment. I have read this book 50 times since I bought my first copy in 1987 when I was about 13. This book just grabs you by the throat from the first page and doesn’t let go. I can empathize with so many characters from this book, from Harold, who I was just like at 13, the lonely fat kid looking to fit in to the trashcan man, who doesn’t want to do the things he does, he just can’t stop.

3. The Harry Potter series-What can I say about this series that hasn’t been said more eloquently than I ever could?

4. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger-What can I say, I am Holden Caulfield. This book more than any other helped me come to terms with who I was. I was a no good punk most of my childhood and it wasn’t until I read this book in the seventh grade that I realized that I wasn’t alone and that I wasn’t as worthless as I thought I was. Salud Mr. Salinger.

5. The Mission Earth Dekalogy by L. Ron Hubbard-Now ol L.Ron may have been a kooky sonofabitch but the man could write. This is another series that I have read at least 30 times. No character in these books grab me more than Soltan Gris. He may be evil but you can’t help feeling sorry for him.

6. Beowulf-More epic poem than book but this story is what started my life long love affair with the Fantasy genre. Who wouldn’t want this fierce warrior by their side when facing a a Grendel.

7. Battlefield Earth by L.Ron Hubbard-Not to be confused with Mission Earth, this is an epic tale of good versus evil and another book I have read over 30 times.

8. It by Stephen King-I fucking hate CLOWNS-enough said.

9. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott-What? I’m not a total Neanderthal, besides Jo rocks!

10. The Morrow Stone by Ren Cummins-This was a tough choice but I’m giving it to Ren based on the strength of his writing and the promise shown so far. This book is freaking amazing! It has everything-Steampunk, adventure, fantasy with a little bit of pokemon feel thrown in. I will admit, this book is a little hard to get into, but after the first 20 pages or so you will be sucked in.

About blackhands4life

KODT Fanatic, MMO lover, daddy to the best son ever!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

